Life With God · Wisdom

The Purpose For Your Life In 410 Words

OWMN4VA7W1

I slumped into my huge comfy couch after a long day at work.”Everything is meaningless…” I groaned. Alex stared at me for a moment before twisting his eyes away. “Katie…” he began. I put my finger to his lips. “Alex. I know what you’re going to say.” He kissed my finger and chuckled. “Only because I’ve had to say it a thousand times.” 

I smiled. “More like a million.” We both laughed until I started slipping back into my thoughts. “Really though…we work our butts off day in and day out, I work hard on this blog thing and on my books but even if anything comes of any of it it’s still meaningless. What does it matter? We’re all going to die one day and no one will remember any of our work.”

“What you said is only partly true.” He continued smiling. “But who are we working for?”

“God.”

“Yes, so who cares if no one else remembers or has seen what we’ve done except God?”

“Yes.” I sighed. “But…God remembers yes…it’s good to be reminded sometimes…that His opinion is the only one that matters.”

“I agree.” 

“It’s so hard to not want the worlds applause though…”

“Yeah. Well, that is a desire to take to God. Ask Him to remind you that everything outside of what you are doing for Him is meaningless in the end.” I studied my husbands handsome face and grinned, preparing myself to call him by his awful nickname.

“You’re more than just a looker Zoot.” 

He rolled his green eyes and enunciated my nickname for him.”Same to you Zoot.”

Please consider this super short blog a reminder to focus on what really matters in your life, living a life worthy in God’s eyes. First comes relationship with Him, everything good and perfect flows from that relationship with Love, then come the works He has for us.

Those works are not for our glory and power but so that His name will be glorified. This can be very challenging for us to recognize in a culture with so many people telling us we need to look and act a certain way for the “camera” in order to be considered anything worthy.

Don’t worry about what the world says success is. Pursue God with everything in you. Allow His definition of success, living to glorify Him, overwhelm you and become all you live for.

It will be worth it. Trust me ❤

With much love,

Katie

Leave a Reply

