Helping Teens Overcome Obstacles: A Diary Of Sorts · Overcoming Obstacles

You Are Beautiful: How To Stop Believing The Lies

DAMTKLVULC.jpg

This morning I woke up, as most human beings do, and sauntered over to my door. I grabbed the handle, twisted, shuffled a few steps and was soon planted, involuntary to the ground, paralyzed. I caught my breath as soon as I saw that I was standing face to face with one of the most terrifying things I had ever witnessed…me.

I am telling you this to garner sympathy or even get a chuckle (however, this is nothing wrong with a good laugh). I am telling you this because even though I talk about beauty quite often and the wonderful creations that we (men and women) both hold, crafted masterfully by the Creators great hand.  I am letting you know that at times this is a struggle for me at times and that you are not alone in any struggle that is similar.

So, there I was, staring myself down in the shiny mirror, analyzing my legs and torso…at first, my conclusion as to what I was looking at is not a nice one.  I soon realized that I was thinking thoughts that were and are detrimental and crippling. As soon as I realized what I was doing I turned away from the mirror, poured myself some water and headed to the office. It wasn’t long before the Bible was cracked open and lying in front of me. I dove headfirst into the Psalms…”I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.[a]
Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.” 

It didn’t take long before my eyes were clenched shut. I kept them that way as I ruminated on these truths…”Lord, will you please help me believe what I am reading is truth.” He whispered words of favor and love.

“Do you remember that picture of the sea that you were looking at Katie?” He asked gently.

“Yes.” 

“Could you see the end of it?”

“Ha! No.”

“My love for you stretches that far; it stretches far beyond what you can see. I find you invaluable my daughter. Don’t worry about what the world says. You are my treasure. You are so precious to me. Believe my truth and let me calm your soul.”

“Okay.” I nodded, not fully convinced but definitely wanting to believe. I remained in my fetal position for a couple minutes but after a couple of minutes I slowly unfurled like a late blooming flower. The worship songs I had playing on Youtube worked their magic and awakening me to the truth.

I kept repeating words of truth over myself as I rose to look out the window, “I am fearfully and wonderfully made. I am loved. I am brave. I am strong but I am taken care of by the God who made the unbreakable elements of this earth. I am perfect just the way I am. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. I am loved. I am perfect just the way I am. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. I am loved. I am perfect just the way that I am….”

My question to you is this: are you struggling with thoughts of worthlessness? Please consider this a reminder to take time and do what you must in order to hear truth. You may hear encouraging messages from other sources but they are never enough, are they? Our soul can only be completely satisfied by the God who made us and we are SO precious, SO special to Him.

If you are struggling, please take time to talk with Him about your troubles. If all else fails, take time to speak and repeat the words I spoke over myself. They are life giving. Use your words to bring life to yourself! Believe truth.

I am cheering you on and believing in great things for you in your journey ❤

With much love and hope,

K.L Pezzutto

 

 

 

One thought on “You Are Beautiful: How To Stop Believing The Lies

  1. Katie you are so beautiful. People ask me if you’re a model all the time. You are a precious precious girl!! Come home for a visit. Bring Rebecca for a visit

    Dianna 🌹

    >

Leave a Reply

