Helping Teens Overcome Obstacles: A Diary Of Sorts · Overcoming Eating Disorders

Confessions Of A Former Anorexic: What Does Healthy Look Like?

IMG_2853.JPG

I have grown up in a society where fitness magazines suggest I must have a super slim waist, six hundred abs, a jaw line sharp enough to slice through thick slabs of cheese (weird) and lips that looks like I have been sucking on a tail pipe (double weird)…

And super, not delicious…

I, like many young women, have fallen prey to these petty ideals. I, like many others, am incredibly SICK of seeing other women I know and love lose so many years of their life and so many of their precious thoughts to this false security. I am TIRED of the insecurity this issue raises in the lives of women who have been made in God’s precious image.

Because of my passion to see young women freed from the lies, and ultimately a mindset of death, I have decided to start writing more articles on the reality of falling prey to and honing that deadly mindset.

My purpose is this: I want you, dear reader, to see the trap before walking into it. Not only that, I want to explain what it means to be healthy and how to attain that goal…

This is the first in a series of many, anorexia exposed.

I have created a list of strategies to either sidestep an eating disorder or get out of one that has held you tightly in its grasp.

1. Know who you are…. IMG_2487.JPG

I don’t mean this in some lame, girl power way. I mean, you sit down with God and His word. You find those nuggets of truth in His word and you meditate on them. You speak them OUT LOUD! You repeat them again and again when lies pop into your mind.

Keep in mind that this is a battle. One does not win a battle by sitting back and letting the enemy take over. You will win by standing guard on the defense before working your way up to a completely offensive position.

When you’re finished that,

Ask God to show you how He sees you then wait. 

He, in a still small voice, will speak the most powerful words you have ever heard. He will rock your being with the truth about who He made you to be. He will tell you that before the establishment of the earth He already had YOU, exactly the way you are, planned out!

Here’s more truth:

He looks at you and can’t help but sing LOUDLY. He looks at you and can’t help but DANCE like a crazy person. He is SO IN LOVE with you daughter. Just the way you are. Just the way you are. Just the way you are.

Zephaniah 3:17 –“The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.”

     

2. Renounce lies you believe about yourself…

Words are even more powerful than you may realize. They are strong enough to completely destroy a person or to lift them up to a place of power and security. If you want to read more about the power of words, feel free to read my article on this topic.

In light of this, make time everyday to collect lies that you hear spoken over yourself… such as: “if I don’t complete this task I will be a failure” or “I need to lose five pounds because only then will I be worthy of love.” Those are nothing but LIES LIES LIES!

Squash those words of death by reciting what you know about yourself:

You, daughter of the King, are fearfully and wonderfully made. You are the apple of God’s eye! You were formed with purpose and for a purpose.

You are valuable. That is the truth.

You are valuable, not because you have written 10 New York Times Bestsellers, but because of who you are, loved by God of the Universe.

IMG_2846.JPG 3. Garbage in. Garbage out…

What we allow in our minds will ultimately guide our actions.

I am VERY guilty of looking to other women I see on the internet and expecting myself to match up to the way they look.

“If I could just pull off that look that she has!” I mutter under my breath while my adoring husbands looks on with a sad glaze gleaming from his eyes. He loves me just the way I am. He wonders and is angered by the question: why in the world would she feel the need to please other people with how she looks?

I imagine this is how God looks at us when we search for the approval in the eyes of others. He is sitting there, watching us try to draw affirmation from those around us. His heart breaks as he watches us lick crumbs up from these peoples tables.

If only we looked to Him, we would see the HUGE banquet laid out for us. If only we would allow His words to guide us and not the opinions of a fractured world.

Of course, this is our choice entirely.

If you are struggling with your body image and need someone to talk to or know someone who is struggling, please refer them to this page. I would love to get in contact with anyone who is struggling to offer support, prayers and a way to break the chains of those who are in bondage.

If you have any thoughts about this topic, please comment below. I am always very excited to receive insight from those around me.

MUCH love,

K.L Pezzutto

 

(A HUGE thank you to Merena of Halo for taking these photos)

Please check out her incredible cause ahttp://www.onehaloatatime.com

 

 

2 thoughts on “Confessions Of A Former Anorexic: What Does Healthy Look Like?

  1. Needed this today. The lies are becoming louder and louder in my head as I become “healthier” looking. Thanks

    1. You are so welcome ❤ I pray for complete healing over you and your mind. Rest in knowing that He will fight the fight for you. Give your concerns to Him and be still knowing that He is God ❤ Psalm 46:10

Leave a Reply

