Overcoming Obstacles

Mane Tips: 5 Useful Tips to Grow Out Your Hair

wallup.net
wallup.net

During my clueless pubescent years I would stand in front of the mirror with a hot-as-hell straighter in my right hand. “Here we go.” I would sigh before beginning the arduous task. It usually took me about thirty minutes to sear the hair flat enough to feel as though I had achieved the “perfect” doo. Friends would walk in from outside and ask why the bathroom smelt like burning flesh. I would tilt my head to the side cutely, “I don’t know.” I’m not sure if I was lying about this or not… all I knew was that the longer my hair looked, the better my situation. For some reason, much beyond me, I always wanted long, flowing locks.

As I am sure you have guessed, my hair did not grow during those fragile times of pubescent angst. Not in the slightest. What do you think one of the main reasons was?

You guessed it!

I needed to stop treating my hair like it was some kind of Asian noodle. This leads us into tip #1:

  1. Please don’t fry your mane… what I mean by this is: use hot tools on it as little as possible and when you do put a heat protector onto your hair before styling. I find Aveda Smooth Infusion Nourishing Styling Cream, works like an absolute charm. It not only protects my hair from the heat but also adds shine and takes away frizz. Here’s a link if you would like to check it out! http://www.aveda.com/product/5250/36581/Collections/Smooth-InfusionTM/smooth-infusion-nourishing-styling-creme/index.tmpl

2.  Let those locks loose! Back in the day, I used to always wear my hair in a                                  bun.  I did not like how short it was so I would always wear it up and away from view             of public. Bad idea! Keeping my hair wrapped tightly like a bakers dozen did not do                 wonders for my locks. It actually caused some major breakage to my hair. Because                 of this breakage it was much more difficult for me to grow my hair out properly.

3. Nourish, nourish, nourish! Make sure you are putting a deep conditioning treatment          in your hair and leaving it in for a good half an hour before rinsing. I dry my hair out             with a towel, put a deep nourishing Aveda mask all through my hair and coconut oil at         the ends before leaving the two ingredients in for a good thirty minutes. After the                 timer dings I begin to rinse with warm water. The warm water rids my hair of the oil. I         then blast my hair with a shot of cold water to seal the cuticles of my hair.

4. Eat healthily….some amazing foods for your hair are as follows: salmon, greek                       yogurt, spinach and sweet potatoes!

5.  Stay natural babe…stay natural…try products that are not filled with toxic junk. Our              hair does not do well with toxic junk. I used to buy my shampoo and conditioners                    from the drug store before realizing that there were a lot of ingredients in those                      shampoos and conditioners that were causing more damage than good…

Anyhow, that’s all for my list. If you have any tips you would like to share feel free to leave them in the comment section. I will be very excited to read them!

Blessings,

K.L Pezzutto

Leave a Reply

