Overcoming Obstacles

The Devastating Things I Idolize

Katie by Tannis

I stand in front of the bedroom mirror, a favorite haunt as of late, and check my reflection. Hmm… does my hair look just right? The modelling agency said that they wanted me but will they after meeting me in person? They haven’t seen all my split ends.

“Ding!” Oh, there goes my phone, for the 20th time today. I need to check my Facebook to see how many likes on got on my most recent picture. Hmm… only 12. I need to make certain I look better next time. Perhaps the graphics weren’t quite right. Maybe I’m just not that desirable… maybe. Well, in other news, I’m so glad that Robin approved of my unit plan… maybe I am on the right track.She is after all, a genius, sought after by many and author of one of the bestselling books in Canada. Maybe I can be an A+++ student, a star intellect to be envied, and be more like Robin. I bet I could do this with just a little bit of work. Now, it’s time to check my blog, for the 5th time today. Hmm… I only had 2 people like this particular post. Maybe it wasn’t worth publishing… maybe people didn’t like it. Maybe I should give up.

How exhausting, draining and illogical these thoughts are and. Yet these thoughts and more have the tendency to ramble through my head like a freight train straight outta hell, unstoppable and bent for my soul. But they must be stopped.

If they can’t be it would mean that the God I trust isn’t as powerful and trustworthy as He says He is.

Whenever I check my phone, the mirror or my blog site for affirmation I can see that I have been believing lies and placing untruths in place of my true identity, a Child of the Most High God. It’s time to put down the distractions and crack open the best book that was ever written, yes my friends… the Bible. I need to stop, reevaluate where I have been placing my security and realign myself with truth.

Perhaps, precious reader, you are in this place as well. If you are I would encourage you to receive refreshment and truth from the following scriptures. They are the top two that have been getting me through the onslaught of constant lies that are thrown at me.

  1. He does not delight in the strength of the horse; He does not take pleasure in the legs of a man. The LORD favors those who fear Him, Those who wait for His loving kindness. Psalm 147:10-11

I don’t know about you, but these verses mean A TON to me. I have been athletic my entire life and thoroughly enjoyed sports. I was known as the one with the “thick legs” you know “the strong kicker”, “destroyer of the hide”. I still pride myself in the strength of the legs God has given me but, He does not care about my physical strength. As much as my talents may impress those around me, He, the One whose opinion matters, doesn’t give a rip. If used improperly, in a way that is not giving glory to Him, He is not pleased.

Yes, the Lord “favors those who fear Him”. Again, I don’t know about you but I would MUCH rather have the approval and favor of God then of men. One day we are all going to have to face God and give an account for what we did and why we did it. I don’t want to be standing there on my brawny legs and have Him looking into my scrawny heart. No thank you.

2. “Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.” Proverbs 31:30

From first glance at this verse you may think that this woman is trying so hard to be validated, so hard that she would forsake her beauty and only pay attention to spiritual things. Now this is kind of true but only to a certain extent. There is NOTHING wrong with enjoying beauty. God made it. But we must be careful with how we flaunt it. Does it make our identity or is it a small piece in the puzzle of who we are as human beings, made in the image of the Almighty?

Please remember that your validation should not come from what those around you have to say about you. Spend time with the Lord, listening to His voice and waiting for His validation. When you do this you will be aware of which steps to take and which to avoid. Let’s learn together ❤

Much love,

KP

Leave a Reply

