Life With God

The Power In Being Still

girlfacingwaves

                                                “Be still and know that I am God…” Psalm 46:10

I love it when the hectic running of errands and nail chomping worry of this world is overpowered by the tangible beauty of His presence. This was the reality of this morning, and every morning I choose to spend with the Lord.

As is always the case, my heart is filled with bouts of turmoil and big questions before I address them with the my good Father. What productive task should I accomplish today? What if I’m a loner all day? What have I done with my life? I’m 24 and don’t have much to show for it… I have to be the best at everything but I’m not! Ah! 

This morning I chose to scoop up the nagging thoughts and offer them to my heavenly Father. As I did so, verses pop into my head reminding me of who I am, His precious daughter. They remind me of His sovereignty and the real meaning of life. That is: to serve Him and not to gain for my own benefit. 

As I read His Word I can feel the nagging questions and accusations melting, their talons have been severed by the powerful sword called His truth and I am free. Fear gasps as its hold is cut away and by His grace I am have been made free.

I take a moment to pause, let a couple tears slip from my eyes then flip to Psalm 63. After wiping the drops from my cheeks and breathing in deeply I read the truth, out loud.

“My God, you are my God; earnestly I seek You; my soul thirsts for You; my flesh faints for You. As in a dry and weary land where there is no water. 

So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary , beholding Your power and glory

Because Your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise You so I will bless you as long as I live. 

In Your name I will lift up my hands.”

The passage hit me like the Lethbridge style whirlwind happening outside my window. My soul thirsts for God. My flesh faints for Him, always. Unfortunately this reality isn’t always something that I recognize or choose to address well. There are times when I notice something is missing and I choose to fill my emptiness with futile pursuits like buying more clothes, receiving affirmation from others or being the centre of attention.

If I’ve learned one thing, it’s this: those things never work.

I ALWAYS come away empty and drained when I try to fill my soul with junk.

Please consider this post as a reminder to you, my valued reader. There is a God who wants to listen to every word you say. He wants to bring you peace unlike you have ever known. Trust me. He made everyone and wants to do this for everyone. 

I challenge you to take a moment today and be still. Bring your worries to Him. Let anxiety and whatever is burdening your heart fall away and wither at the feet of a God whose love is, indeed, much better than life. 

Sincerely Yours,

KP

 

 

Leave a Reply

