Helping Teens Overcome Obstacles: A Diary Of Sorts

Who Is God?

Elohim, El Shaddai, El Elyon, Yahweh, Qanna, El Olam… the list of attributes given to the God of the Christian Bible appears to be endless.

In the Old Testament He shows up to be a fiery God of wrath who takes animal sacrifices and is Qanna, jealous, of any of the other gods.

In the New Testament, Elohim comes to earth as a baby, grows up in an incredibly humble village called Nazareth and dies a excruciating death to save all humanity from a life without Love.

What? Who the heck is this guy?

He is Love.

1 John 4:8 says,”anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.”

That means, sex is not love and neither is that flippy feeling in your chest or the involuntary tremors you feel in your knees when an uber attractive man walks past. What you are experiencing in those situations is not love because it’s not unconditional because Love never gives up. Love never stops pursuing you. This isn’t the case with men, not because they are deranged but because they are human…and sometimes deranged (I’m married… I know these things).

Now…

Let’s get to know Love, true Love. ❤

Regardless of the apparent paradox’s in character that are seen in passages of Scripture, God created the world and placed you in it, because of His love.

Here’s what blows my mind whenever I spend time with Him: 

That God, wants SO badly for me to spend time in His presence. He desires a relationship with me. He wants to hear about the ins and outs of my day. He wants to know what I am scared of and or anxious for. He won’t judge me for what I have said or done. He just wants me, just the way that I am.

He loves you just the way that you are. This is REALLY, REALLY, REALLY TRUE. 

I didn’t believe or see the need for spending time with this God until I almost died from anorexia and bulimia six years ago. When I had nothing left I felt the pages of my Bible whispering to me (not literally, that’s kind of creepy. Stupid, lyrical personification)…so I picked it up and started reading.

Do you want to know one of the key verses that helped pull me out of my depression and suicidal thoughts?

I’ll tell you anyway…because I like to talk to you and you’re worth the time. 

Psalm 139: 14-I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.”

Please, think about this verse. Spend time sitting there with your journal, your thoughts and a pen. Begin to write, speak or draw (whatever works for you) and while you do, communicate to God. Talk to Him like He was a normal human being sitting in front of you. Tell Him your fears, your hurts and your anger.

Tell Him what seems hopeless to you and ask Him for answers.

I would also recommend grabbing yourself a Bible and reading it (try starting with Psalms. Psalms is found in the middle of the Bible and is a compilation of conversations with God. Some of them are written by a King!) I am certain the staff of Living Hope would be ecstatic to find you one ❤

Anyhow, I am sending blessings your way and wanting you to know how dang loved you are, even if you don’t feel it at times.

My prayer over you: Father of lights and all things good, I pray that your daughter would know her worth and her identity as your child, your adopted daughter. I ask that she would know how much you love her and how much she is worth to you. Please give her wisdom and peace, wherever she is at and despite what she is feeling. Father, please show her how good you are and how beautiful she is to You.

I pray she would grasp the height, depth and width of Your prevailing love for her.

In your precious name, amen ❤

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Who Is God?

  1. Hi there! I found your blog post online and I couldn’t find the comment section for the one I wanted to talk about, entitled “LGBTQ And Double Edged Swords”.

    “Despite what the presenter said this morning I, a Christ follower, do not hate or seek to persecute those who identify as LGBTQ.”

    I’m honestly flummoxed that someone would say that. I can’t believe they would utter the words: “All Christians hate and seek to persecute those who identify as LGBTQ.” That’s appalling, and I urge you not to extrapolate on this experience—members of the LGBTQ are not typically condemning of religion. I’m not sure the statistics of those who identify as queer with those who identify as having no religion, though, so you would have to examine that. Regardless, rude is rude and I’m sorry you had to experience that!

    “The LGBTQ standard, and the standard of most the population I spend my time with, is that we accept everything they say as groundbreaking, trendy truth.”

    I agree with this sentiment! I think it’s great to be skeptical of any compendium—be that liberal, conservative, or what-have-you. I think this shows great critical thinking. I don’t think we should accept everything as “progressive” or “morally correct” just because it’s sold to us that way. That being said, disagreeing with aspects of something doesn’t mean we have to throw it out wholesale. I am not religious, but I believe there are many great aspects of (all) religions that we need to bring to society in a secular fashion—such as community-building! So try not to dismiss the LGBTQ community as a whole.

    I find it interesting that you pose this question: “Are the members of this community taking time to reflect on some other ideas that may change their lives?” And then talk about Rosaria Butterfield. I’m truly curious when I say: do you respect her because she has denied her sexuality or because she has found the god you believe in? What if she denied her sexuality but found Allah instead? Would you have the same amount of respect for her?

    It just seems, unfortunately, that you are sometimes playing the role of the martyr. I mean, Christians are by far the majority in Canada, making up 67.3% of the population! I find it terribly ironic that you wrote these two lines:

    “I it wise to ally with a worldview because the majority of people around us agree with its validity? Should we be accepting the double standard that comes wholeheartedly from a worldview that claims to be accepting of everyone and yet mocks whatever is in opposition to it?”

    These could be applied DIRECTLY to the worldview of Christianity. (Not saying all Christians mock “whatever” is in opposition to it–but that have had similar experiences to the dreadful speaker you had to encounter, in that many Christians down here in Tennessee have mocked me for not believing in a god.)

    Please trust that I am being genuine when I say I am thrilled that religion (any religion—not just Christianity) can bring you happiness. That’s really cool! But I think it’s necessary to be critical not just of ourselves, but of any worldview we happen to follow. We should be honest with ourselves. Socialization is a huge factor in shaping all of our lives; so when the majority of Canadians believe that Jesus is the son of God–well, it’s not statistically surprising that you do as well.

    I have a challenge for you: read some (well-written) atheist literature. Perhaps “God is Not Great” or “The End of Faith”. If you’re less interested in reading predominantly Christian critiques—although the above examples challenge all religious texts—check out “Infidel” by Ayaan Hirsi Ali. She is a very brave and articulate woman who speaks up about Islam. There is also a little-known book called “Darwin’s Cathedral” that my supervisor encouraged me to read when I was struggling. Again, I am very interested in theology and I hope I have not offended you. I am simply curious to see how you feel about the whole framework of religion—is that something worth critiquing? Is it not?

    Anyways, thanks for the post! Always thought-provoking. Above all, I wish you happiness. 🙂 Cheers.

    1. Ailaina, you are an artist in the art of communicating in a respectful way. Thank you for that ❤ It is a stark contrast to what I've been exposed to over the past year… to answer your question, I am very PLEASED for Rosaria as she has met and made relationship with a God who is real, beautiful and alive. I am not pleased for my own agenda but because I am pleased she has found the truth! I will make a point to look up some of those works. I am interested in hearing what the experiences of others have been and how I can best communicate with them.

      People have mocked you for not accepting Christianity? That breaks my heart and angers me as that is not loving and not God's heart for you. He wants you to know how valuable and precious you are… a unique and beautiful individual and not someone to be controlled but to be embraced!

      My apologies that this response is so brief. Let's please continue to conversation if you wish 🙂

      Much love,
      KP

Leave a Reply

