Helping Teens Overcome Obstacles: A Diary Of Sorts

You Are An Overcomer

overcomer         

       The Greek word “overcomer” stems from the word Nike (just like the shoes!). Nike means to carry off the victory. The verb implies battle. It refers to a war. This is fitting as there is definitely a brutal war going on. What both sides are battling over may come as a surprise to you.

 They are battling over you.

You, precious woman, are the treasure both teams are clashing swords and spilling blood over. Do you know why? It’s because you, beautiful woman, are precious beyond words.

The leaders of both sides see and acknowledge this.

The major difference between these two sides is that one wants to see you live a life of misery, pain and dysfunction while the other is so passionately in love with you that He died for you and offers you new beginning full of strength, peace and joy!

 Please rejoice in knowing there is no need to fret about which side will take dominance. You hold a lot more power in the matter than you know. You have been given complete choice as to which side takes over and captivates your heart.

Interested in the evil side? (Their cookies suck).

I chose the evil side when I was close to your age and it didn’t work too well for me. Four years of my life were spent in complete captivity to the evil one. I hated my body, hated my life and saw no purpose in anything I did. I almost took my own life twice.

Fortunately, Elohim, Maker of all life and goodness reached His hand out to me and asked me if I was tired of living in bondage. I said “yes.” He took my hand and led me down a beautiful, challenging path to freedom. He broke my ways of thinking and renewed my mind as I read His Word, the Bible.

 I haven’t been the same since.

Beautiful woman, Overcomer, I charge you to make the same choice. Choose to believe that there is One, and only One, who will pull you from your mess and lift you high. You won’t regret it choosing to overcome the evil one.

He’s reaching out His hand to you Beloved… will you take it?

 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Verse Written by Paul: Author of Romans 8:38-39

Today’s Song: Overcomer by Mandisa

Leave a Reply

