Overcoming Obstacles

Grace is Attainable

Nope! Nope! Nope! Nope! Nope! Nope! Nope! Nope! Nope! Nope! Nope!

 Wrong. The title isn’t true.

“Wrong? What do you mean by wrong?” My cowering heart asks my pensive spirit. “There’s no way Aunt Jemima deserves grace from me. That creepy old woman…she stole my pancake mix recipe and didn’t even apologize!”

Okay, I admit there are things in my life much worse than having my pancake mix stolen (this has never happened because really, truthfully and honestly I am not skilled at pancake making. Just ask Alexander) that have most certainly happened. There have been many people who have hurt me. Yes, even those closest to me. Those include: my parents and so-called “friends.”

I admit, I have held on to bitterness towards them for a long time. It was a bitterness that did not stay in one position of my heart but a poison that spread itself all throughout its soft flesh.

It was a bitterness that said, “People had better do everything perfectly…or else.”

 It was a bitterness that said, “People had better do everything perfectly…or else.” 

It was just recently that I had to ask the Lord for forgiveness for holding on to those bitter roots and allowing them to poison my heart. The act has been…

Refreshing! Oh so refreshing that grace is given freely!

“But God demonstrates His own love towards us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8 (NASB)

Wowsa.

“And if by grace, then it is no longer by works; if it were, grace would no longer be grace.” Romans 11:6

Gah…

“For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men.” Titus 2:11

Almighty!

God gave His only Son, a huge sacrifice, for the people who killed His Son. I don’t get how He could do it. I really don’t.

God gave His only Son, a huge sacrifice…

For me it’s a challenge to accept the fact I am called to let go of the faults my parents have. To not hold them to all the mistakes they have made that have (unintentionally) wounded me for many years.

For the majority of mankind this is a challenge. But it’s not impossible! Ask the Lord to show you how He sees the people who have hurt you.

I guarantee that all who walk this earth are wiped completely free from everything they have ever done! God, their Father, sees them as completely pure and blameless but it is their choice to accept the gift. We must keep in mind that even if they haven’t accepted the gift we must still give it.

Why shouldn’t we ask to see them the same way? There’s no good reason.

We are no longer slaves to a judgmental spirit.

We are children of God.

 A Prayer!Grace picture

Papa God, if there is anyone I hold offense against and dislike because of what they have done to me please give me eyes to see them the same way you do. Please give me compassion for them and show me how to set appropriate boundaries with them. Thank you that you have watched over me since I was a very young child. I love you Daddy.

 Amen.

Leave a Reply

