Writing Tips

Better Than Cookie Dough

Two days ago I found my fingers in a giant bowl. Unbeknownst to my knowledge those sporadic phalanges of mine had slipped into the inverted dome and taken two handfuls of dough captive. Somehow, by some miraculous intervention, my lips had also found themselves caked with the cookie mix.

“…those sporadic phalanges of mine…”

Then there was a knock on the door.

“Hurray! She’s here!”

Hurray, for not having any mirrors in the kitchen and not caring to check the state of my goodie-smeared face. Hurray…

If you were to ask Chelsea, she would tell you that the proverbial cherry-topping-our goods was my crazy appearance. The strings of hair on my head decided to conglomerate then agree to separate. All across my head, row upon row danced in every which direction. My mouth wanted to follow in tow. Unfortunately it only had one way to go. Vertical. I was grinning ear to ear when I opened the door. Who wouldn’t be? I am a woman who just assaulted a bowl filled with cookie!

Praise be to God for the compassionate friends He has placed in my life. Seriously.

My beautiful companion seemed to see past my frizzled state and into the daunting condition that lay beneath. I had been tempted by it and had succumbed to its seductive gaze. She knew it. We both knew it. We grinned. Oh, chocolate…

“Oh chocolate…”

Her caring gaze watched me I popped the last of the cookies into the over, cleaned myself up a bit and began the more thoughtful portion of our conversation. We started with our joys, grievances and eventually morphed into our hardships and struggles. It wasn’t long before the topic of temptation threw itself into the mix

I must stop here and take note of the marvel of puns.

            “Oh, aren’t they funny?” I ask you.

            “No!” You say. “They’re annoying. So annoying!”

            “Oh.” You watch my face fall, I know. I’m sorry. Wait! No, I take that phrase back! What I meant is, “I apologize!”

 Dang-git.  

 Chelsea. It’s official. The “I’m-Sorry” jar has won another one of my 25 cents.

Anyhow, I told her that I had my doubts and wondered if I would ever be able to mitigate from temptation. We shared our struggles and encouraged each other, but it wasn’t until today that I found this scripture verse: Hebrews 6:15-16. It says, “For we do not have a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but One who has been tempted in all things as we are, yet without sin…”

The next part of this verse is equally astounding. It shows us how the Lord does not “lord” his perfection over us. Instead, through it, he shows us another picture of His amazing grace and love. Wow…

The Lord says, “Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace, to help in time of need.”

“Goodness, Our God is good.” Says my friend.

“Yes,” I grin, “even better than cookie dough.”

Image

One thought on “Better Than Cookie Dough

  1. Great insights into the gospel, and again done with words that captivate and create chuckles. Jesus is, indeed, better than cookie dough. In fact, my friend and I, after taking Hebrews class last semester, decided that a simplified thesis for the book is: “Jesus is better.” plain and simple.

Leave a Reply

