Writing Tips

Roses and Royalty

    Myriads of scented flowers fill the room; their bright stems crawl up the trellises that accompany me at each side. My eyes shift to the green works creeping along the sun soaked walls then back to the glowing canopy above. My heart feels so still and quiet. There is no peace like the peace I encounter while I wait for Him. His whispers, so full of patience, continue to tell me there is a time for everything. I believe Him, the Prince of Peace, and know that He has some very good things waiting those who put their trust in His Great name.

There is no peace like the peace I encounter while I wait for Him.

     Despite knowing these things I had decided to not wait in His presence on a certain issue. As a result I had caused myself unnecessary heartache. I knew He called this morning meeting so He could speak words of correction, and ultimately life, to my soul.

     As I wait here in these fragrant surroundings I wonder, “Why do I always try to rush things along? He knows what is best. What would happen if the roses decided they knew better? Perhaps they wouldn’t bloom at all. For some of us, seeing the sloth move at a quicker pace would rob us an oddly placed joy.

 What would happen if the roses decided they knew better?

    I close my eyes and speak to Him, “God, I leave all fears, worries and calamity at the door. I choose to accept Your beautiful invitation. I choose to come to the quiet place and discuss all decisions with you. Father, I know that although I may not like the answer immediately You work good out for those who love You. Thank you for the honor of being Your daughter. Thank you that You correct those You love.”

I decide to sit and stay away in this warmth. The answer that I’m looking for hasn’t come but that’s alright…

because my King’s timing is perfect.

Leave a Reply

